Business owners, bartenders, servers, store clerks, parents, and young people should all familiarize themselves with the Texas liquor laws surrounding the sale of alcohol to minors. That way, all of the parties involved can make sure that no laws are inadvertently being broken.
In the state of Texas, a person has to be at least 21 years old to legally purchase alcohol. This includes buying alcohol at stores as well as at bars or restaurants. An attorney from www.mvhtexasliquorlaw.com said the law applies to all types of alcohol including beer, wine, and hard liquor.
If a person gets caught selling alcohol to a minor, they can face stiff legal repercussions. If the person fails to check the identification of the minor or if they sell the alcohol to them knowing that they are underage, they could be found guilty of criminal negligence. This offense is considered a class A misdemeanor and can carry a fine of up to $4000. The person who sold the alcohol to the minor also may have their driver’s license suspended for as long as 180 days if they are convicted.
They may also be held liable for any damages that are caused by the minor as a result of their intoxication. For instance, if the minor backs their car into a nearby building after leaving a bar where they were served alcohol illegally, the bartender may have to pay for the damage along with facing criminal charges. When you consider how steep these penalties are, it is easy to see why it is so important for people who serve alcohol to always check for identification before serving drinks to anyone who may be underage.
In most cases, minors are allowed to enter establishments where alcohol is being sold or served – especially if they are accompanied by one of their parents or a legal guardian. Establishments that serve alcohol have the right to deny entry to minors, however, if they so choose.
If a minor wants to get a job serving alcohol in a bar or restaurant, they need to be at least 18 years old. If they want to work in a liquor store, on the other hand, they need to be at least 21. There are no age restrictions when it comes to selling alcohol in a grocery store or convenience store, however.
Hopefully, this general overview of the Texas liquor laws surrounding the sale of alcohol to minors will give you a better idea of what is and isn’t allowed when it comes to buying or selling alcohol in the state of Texas.